Newbie Questions Before Signing Up

CR500
Novice II

I'm a complete Newb.  Always had a work phone so never looked into wireless service.  Plan on getting a used iPhone 12 Max Pro.

I don't do any streaming (music or video), occasionally use app or surf web at HomeDepot or various airlines & hotels.  It will primarily be used with Waze and in-car race track lap timer apps (Track Addict and Harrys).  I think the lap timers mainly use GPS but may also use some cell tower data.

How intrusive is the throttling?  Would it even be an issue for what I do with the phone?  Does it affect phone calls?  Any statistics / graphs on the throttling?  I'm in the MD/DC/VA area.

Initially thought the $25 service would work, now not sure.  Oof, also googled Visible and complaint and now thinking that maybe I should just pay up and go with Verizon ..  Is it just the unhappy people that are vocal?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Anonymous
Not applicable

Visible doesn't throttle data but you are at the mercy of the congestion on the Verizon towers in your area. The basic plan you are deprioritized on data so if you have heavy tower traffic you will see slower speeds. The plus plan will get you premium data(not prioritized) for 50GB then you will be back to deprioritized data speeds. The plus plan would be similar to a Verizon plan. Only restriction is hotspot speeds are limited to 5Gbps no matter which plan.

If you get a used iPhone 12 it should be capable of an eSIM so you can actually get a free 15 day trial period. I believe the trial is for the basic plan so you can try it out. From what I have read get a different email address and sign up for the trial, if you like it some have had problems with the same account, then sign up with your regular email address on a new account.