Samsung Galaxy S20 Compatibility

brianr
Novice

I have a Samsung Galaxy S205G (SM-G981V) that I checked for compatibility a week or so back and it was compatible.  Went to move to Visible last night and not it is not.  I already moved my wife to Visible and now I am stuck on my Verizon plan by myself.  Can you help?  When will my phone be back on the compatibility list?

26 REPLIES 26

Take your wife's SIM stick it in into your phone check if it works, if it works you could order a SIM even it says not compatible 

I can't, I have a virtual Sim. 

You should try what the TheCellTower said. And if the sim card works but you don't have any data use these APN settings.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/ymiWWmK9VyRi7qpS8

I don't have a physical sim, my phone used a virtual sim.

dhd951
Novice

Hello Brianr,

I have the same phone, and I've been a visible customer with them with the phone for over a year. I would do a backup and perhaps do a factory reset.  I'm no expert, but this might help.

No! Absolutely no this will not make your phone compatible with visible.

That absolutely will not fix it.  They base compatibility on the IMEI only.

It is worth trying the APN settings.  The only way I could see this not working is if your APN settings are locked and you're not able to modify them. 

I had and Samsung s9+ that Visible said was incompatible but managed to get it working perfectly. I'll admit it was not easy just like my s20FE, and it is compatible. CS flounders and will just tell you a phone is not compatible when they can't figure something out. 

Okay, I found the setting.  The only thing there is Verizon Internet (VZWINTERNET).  I can select it but everything is greyed out.  The Add option is also greyed out add any additional APNs.  Is this an issue of calling Verizon to unlock the phone?

I was afraid of that. I buy my phone unlocked from Samsung. 

If the phone is paid off I would call Verizon and see if they will unlock it.