email-to-text does not work

jrichard
Novice

I just spent over an hour on chat with a Visible rep but my email-to-sms / mms does not work.  He eventually claimed it is a phone feature (like Facetime) and I need to contact Apple support to get it working.  I don't think so--but I'm no expert on this.  It seems to me this has to be a network problem...I'm guessing Visible/Verizon is simply forwards email to the phone in the form of sms or mms, and the way mine is setup is not working properly.

Specifics:  iPhone 14, sms/mms and data all working normally except if I text to (mynumber)@vztext.com, (mynumber)@vtext.com, (mynumber)@vzwpix.com, I do not receive the message on the phone.  It works the other way:  I can text to an email address no problems. 

The rep had me go through my phone settings repeatedly checking ->Messages->Send & Receive -> check mark next to my phone number and some other settings.  He had me reboot.  He told me he was looking up answers on Apple support.  All of this, of course, I'd already done myself.

Is there any help to get this working?  My recollection is it all worked correctly before my recent "upgrade" to the new Visible network.

5 REPLIES 5

RyanBlakeIT
Superuser
Superuser

Hi @jrichard - First off, you are spot on when you challenged the representative as this is done on the carrier side, which in our case is Visible.  It's not an issue with a phone feature outside of being able to use SMS/MMS, which if you can text and receive SMS messages (SMS, not iMessage) then that's not the issue.  I have an Android phone and I just tested with the same results.  Sending a text to an e-mail address works fine but replying to that text via e-mail does not work.  The e-mail format is XXXXXXXXXX [at] vzwpix.com starting with the area code.