WIFI access

Doowops
Novice II

Hi, I am new to Visible.  How do I get WIFI access on my phone when I am out and about?  Am I expected to use my cellular data?  If so, am I at risk of using too much data?

Thank you,

Doowops

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Thank you!  Thank you!  Thank you!  I was about to go back to my old provider.  Now I understand that using cellular data is normal.

If you don't mind, I have a couple of more questions as I am trying to figure out how to use this company.

1.  I guess I have an Esim.  Should I have the physical sim card?

2.  I see a lot of talk about wifi calling.  Does that need to be turned on for making calls?

I am using an iphone 11.  Thanks again!

View solution in original post

Thank you very much!  I do appreciate your time and effort.  It restored my confidence in this company now that I have some understanding of how it is supposed to be used.  Most of all of the help documents concern problems.  Don't think any tell you how it should work normally.  Thanks again!  Take care!

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

As far as Wi-Fi goes you would need to turn on Wi-Fi on your phone and connect to a Wi-Fi hotspot where ever you are. But it isn't necessary unless you don't have signal.

Why not use your cellular data, it's unlimited with no caps.

There is a point it is considered abuse when Verizon(Visible's parent company monitors this usage) see a month of extreme usage that is outside your normal usage, you will get a text for this abuse to stop or service could be canceled. There is technically no limit or set number but I have read some really old posts on Visible's Reddit page that the number that gets you a text is around a Terabyte(1000GB) or more of data usage. I think this abuse is from people using routers or VPN's or using something to bypass the video speed cap of 480p and watching a lot of video in 4K and/or the hotspot speed cap of 5Mbps.